Flag of Madagascar
Republic of Madagascar


National anthem of Madagascar

Ry Tanindraza nay malala ô

Ry Tanindrazanay malala ô is the national anthem of Madagascar. The title translates as "Oh, our Beloved Fatherland." It the lyrics were written by Norbert Raharisoa to the music by Rahajason.
more information on Ry Tanindraza nay malala ô

Map of Madagascar

Map of Madagascar

Basic information on Madagascar

Formerly an independent kingdom, Madagascar became a French colony in 1896, but regained its independence in 1960. During 1992-93, free presidential and National Assembly elections were held, ending 17 years of single-party rule. In 1997, in the second presidential race, Didier RATSIRAKA, the leader during the 1970s and 1980s, was returned to the presidency. The 2001 presidential election was contested between the followers of Didier RATSIRAKA and Marc RAVALOMANANA, nearly causing secession of half of the country. In April 2002, the High Constitutional Court announced RAVALOMANANA the winner. RAVALOMANANA is now in his second term following a landslide victory in the generally free and fair presidential elections of 2006.
Location Southern Africa, island in the Indian Ocean, east of Mozambique
Population 19,448,815 (July 2007 est.)
Nationality noun: Malagasy (singular and plural) adjective: Malagasy
Flag description two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and green with a vertical white band of the same width on hoist side