Flag of Kiribati
Republic of Kiribati


National anthem of Kiribati

Teirake kaini Kiribati

Teirake Kaini Kiribati or Stand up, Kiribati is the national anthem of Kiribati. It was written and composed by Urium Tamuera Ioteba, and adopted in 1979.
more information on Teirake kaini Kiribati

Map of Kiribati

Map of Kiribati

Basic information on Kiribati

The Gilbert Islands were granted self-rule by the UK in 1971 and complete independence in 1979 under the new name of Kiribati. The US relinquished all claims to the sparsely inhabited Phoenix and Line Island groups in a 1979 treaty of friendship with Kiribati.
Location Oceania, group of 33 coral atolls in the Pacific Ocean, straddling the Equator; the capital Tarawa is about one-half of the way from Hawaii to Australia; note - on 1 January 1995, Kiribati proclaimed that all of its territory lies in the same time zone as its Gilbert Islands group (UTC +12) even though the Phoenix Islands and the Line Islands under its jurisdiction lie on the other side of the International Date Line
Population 107,817 (July 2007 est.)
Nationality noun: I-Kiribati (singular and plural) adjective: I-Kiribati
Flag description the upper half is red with a yellow frigate bird flying over a yellow rising sun, and the lower half is blue with three horizontal wavy white stripes to represent the ocean