Flag of Guinea
Republic of Guinea


National anthem of Guinea


Liberté (Liberty) has been the national anthem of Guinea since independence in 1958. It was composed by Kodofo Moussa. The author of the lyrics is unknown.
more information on Liberté

Map of Guinea

Map of Guinea

Basic information on Guinea

Guinea has had only two presidents since gaining its independence from France in 1958. Lansana CONTE came to power in 1984 when the military seized the government after the death of the first president, Sekou TOURE. Guinea did not hold democratic elections until 1993 when Gen. CONTE (head of the military government) was elected president of the civilian government. He was reelected in 1998 and again in 2003, though all the polls have been marred by irregularities. Guinea has maintained its internal stability despite spillover effects from conflict in Sierra Leone and Liberia. As those countries have rebuilt, Guinea's own vulnerability to political and economic crisis has increased. Declining economic conditions and popular dissatisfaction with corruption and bad governance prompted two massive strikes in 2006; a third nationwide strike in early 2007 sparked violent protests in many Guinean cities and prompted two weeks of martial law. To appease the unions and end the unrest, CONTE named a new prime minister in March 2007.
Location Western Africa, bordering the North Atlantic Ocean, between Guinea-Bissau and Sierra Leone
Population 9,947,814 (July 2007 est.)
Nationality noun: Guinean(s) adjective: Guinean
Flag description three equal vertical bands of red (hoist side), yellow, and green; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia