Flag of Dominica


National anthem of Dominica

Isle of Beauty, Isle of Splendour

Isle of Beauty, Isle of Splendour is the national anthem of the Commonwealth of Dominica. It was adopted upon gaining statehood in 1967. The lyrics are by Wilfred Oscar Morgan Pond and the music is composed by Lemuel McPherson Christian.
more information on Isle of Beauty, Isle of Splendour

Map of Dominica

Map of Dominica

Basic information on Dominica

Dominica was the last of the Caribbean islands to be colonized by Europeans due chiefly to the fierce resistance of the native Caribs. France ceded possession to Great Britain in 1763, which made the island a colony in 1805. In 1980, two years after independence, Dominica's fortunes improved when a corrupt and tyrannical administration was replaced by that of Mary Eugenia CHARLES, the first female prime minister in the Caribbean, who remained in office for 15 years. Some 3,000 Carib Indians still living on Dominica are the only pre-Columbian population remaining in the eastern Caribbean.
Location Caribbean, island between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, about one-half of the way from Puerto Rico to Trinidad and Tobago
Population 72,386 (July 2007 est.)
Nationality noun: Dominican(s) adjective: Dominican
Flag description green, with a centered cross of three equal bands - the vertical part is yellow (hoist side), black, and white and the horizontal part is yellow (top), black, and white; superimposed in the center of the cross is a red disk bearing a sisserou parrot encircled by 10 green, five-pointed stars edged in yellow; the 10 stars represent the 10 administrative divisions (parishes)