Flag of Benin
Republic of Benin


National anthem of Benin

L'Aube Nouvelle

L'Aube Nouvelle (The Dawn of a New Day) is the national anthem of Benin. Written and composed by Gilbert Jean Dagnon, it was adopted upon independence in 1960.
more information on L'Aube Nouvelle

Map of Benin

Map of Benin

Basic information on Benin

Present day Benin was the site of Dahomey, a prominent West African kingdom that rose in the 15th century. The territory became a French Colony in 1872 and achieved independence on 1 August 1960, as the Republic of Benin. A succession of military governments ended in 1972 with the rise to power of Mathieu KEREKOU and the establishment of a government based on Marxist-Leninist principles. A move to representative government began in 1989. Two years later, free elections ushered in former Prime Minister Nicephore SOGLO as president, marking the first successful transfer of power in Africa from a dictatorship to a democracy. KEREKOU was returned to power by elections held in 1996 and 2001, though some irregularities were alleged. KEREKOU stepped down at the end of his second term in 2006 and was succeeded by Thomas YAYI Boni, a political outsider and independent. YAYI has begun a high profile fight against corruption and has strongly promoted accelerating Benin's economic growth.
Location Western Africa, bordering the Bight of Benin, between Nigeria and Togo
Population 8,078,314 note: estimates for this country explicitly take into account the effects of excess mortality due to AIDS; this can result in lower life expectancy, higher infant mortality and death rates, lower population and growth rates, and changes in the distribution of population by age and sex than would otherwise be expected (July 2007 est.)
Nationality noun: Beninese (singular and plural) adjective: Beninese
Flag description two equal horizontal bands of yellow (top) and red (bottom) with a vertical green band on the hoist side